A Year Ago Today – 9th Feb 06

my waters broke. I was 31 weeks pregnant with my 3rd child. I was almost hysterical with worry, but did not go into labour. I was admitted to hospital and was put on antibiotics. I was very grateful for friends & family who rallied round helping Hubby & visiting me & bringing such wonderful things like shower gel, magazines & yummy food, the bedside tv and just being able to rest. I had my temp taken and blood pressure checked every 2-3 hours – they were looking forsigns of infection that sometimes follows your waters breaking early.

I was in hospital for 5 days, I went in on a Thursday and went home on the Tuesday (weekends in hospital are the most dreadful times, each hour lasts a lifetime). I was like a leaky fawcet (sounds better than a dripping tap), every time I moved I leaked a little more, but they gave me a scan and told me I had plenty of fluid around the baby and that it replenishes itself. I can remember my Consultant telling me as I packed my bag to go home not to go into town and buy lots of premmie clothes, that the likelihood would be the baby would not come early!

another 8 days my little Bab

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Year Ago Today – 9th Feb 06

  1. Marja

    Wow, I knew you had gone into the hospital early but didn’t realise HOW early. It would be like my waters breaking in 2 days from today. So glad everything turned out ok in the end though and that Pip is strong and thriving today ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s funny how when you first get pregnant you worry about staying pregnant, then as you near the middle you get a short reprieve and feel almost human again and then toward the end you’re back to hoping you stay pregnant as close to due date as possible. I had no idea it was such a stressful time, everyone always makes it sound so peachy! What was your original due date?

  2. Toni-Ann

    My original due date was 11th April Marja, the same day as my Hubby’s 40th birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

    I know what you mean – pregnancy isn’t the picnic they all make it out to be, but as soon as that little blighter is out you forget about everything else!

  3. Marja

    Wow! My c-section date is April 11!!!! Original due date of April 16. When my Mom was preg with me the due date was April 22 (my Dad’s bday) but I was 6 days late. Lots of April bdays. We’re super cool, born in April ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

